EU: Have your say!

Now the dust has settled, it is time to look at what we can do. My sadness and anger have not disappeared, if anything they have at times redoubled when hearing about Leave voters’ regrets, witnessing the dramatic increase in racist abuse, or hearing of some people’s general apathy and “get on with it” attitude. But we are here, today, and we have a voice. That is the beauty of living in a democracy. We may be in the dark, we may be in totally uncharted territory, but we have the power of speech.

Inspired by Geoffrey Robertson’s article in The Guardian, I have written to my MP. And then I thought, “Why shouldn’t everyone contact their MP?” So here is how you do it, blow by blow. I promise, it’s easy as 1, 2, 3!

  • Enter your postcode here;
  • Copy and paste your MP’s email address;
  • Draft your email;
  • Send!

This is what I have written to mine, who I believe is or was pro-Leave, should you require any inspiration, but please use your own words and experiences as this is about you!

Dear Mrs Borwick,

It is with regret that I write to you today. I am deeply shocked and saddened that our country has voted Leave and is now bitterly divided and unsafe for some. I wanted to share with you my fears about the future, despite my understanding that you are in the opposing camp, and to find out what is now going to happen as I feel we have been in the dark since the results came in.

Without going into too much detail or boring you with the obvious economic arguments, I had strong personal reasons to vote Remain, one of which being that, though born in London, I have lived more than half my life in France and have never been able to call either country a true home. The EU has given me an identity for as long as I can remember. I had already planned to move back to France where my British family still live but will I now need a visa or residency permit to do so?

My fears for the future are mainly based on the utter uncertainty of the current situation, and on the unsafety and unease this division has created. We are in uncharted territory. What’s the plan? How is this going to work? For Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty to be triggered, what are our “own country’s constitutional requirements”? I am assuming a European Communities Act Repeal Bill will be passed. If so, will you be voting for it in Parliament? I can’t stress enough how much I wish you would oppose it, particularly in view of the results’ immediate effect on our economy, global markets, racist abuse and attacks, and the value of the pound since last Friday.

I would be extremely grateful if you could let me know what the Government’s plan of action is, whether there is any chance we can reverse this advisory referendum due to the sheer complexity and unimaginable cost (both literal and figurative) of any real Brexit plan, and what you expect a rough time frame to be.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Yours sincerely,

Julia Knapp

This is but one small step into what might be a very dark night but, as citizens, we must use the tools that are given to us in the hope that we can make the most out of this divisive vote.

For those French-speakers among you, please read this interesting and inspiring post!

Leave a Reply

